Jonathan Jones - Bodin - Malmaison Atlas
Past Exhibitions

Malmaison, stopover in the austral lands

From the Baudin expedition to Jonathan Jones
From january 2022, 12th to april 2022, 18th
Musée national du château de Malmaison

The Australian artist, Jonathan Jones, very attached to the history of his country, looked at the French expedition led by Captain Nicolas Baudin to the Austral Lands between 1800 and 1804. Sponsored by Napoleon Bonaparte, it is the one of the greatest scientific expeditions in history. This allows many plant and animal species to be brought back to France. Following the instructions given before departure, upon their arrival in France, the kangaroos, black swans, emus, mimosas, and eucalyptus trees are shared between the Paris Natural History Museum and Malmaison Park.

The acclimatization of these species and the research carried out by scientists at the time inspired Jonathan Jones to several works exhibited in France this winter. An immersive installation at the Palais de Tokyo (from November 26, 2021 to February 20, 2022) allows you to discover the boards of the National Herbarium of Paris reproduced in embroidery. They are accompanied, among other things, by a sound work and a film explaining the process and the production of the works.

At the Château de Malmaison (from January 12 to April 18, 2022), the artist presents emus eggs on which are engraved the plants from Étienne-Pierre Ventenat's book Jardin de La Malmaison. These works evoke Josephine's garden embellished with plants from all over the world. They are also reminiscent of the black emu, sent by Baudin, who lived in the gardens of Malmaison, and whose stuffed body kept at the Natural History Museum, is the only representative of this extinct species. The work of Jonathan Jones will be presented in a scenography evoking the historical context of the Baudin expedition and the role of Malmaison in the acclimatization of Australian species in France.

The artist's works will then be visible at Artspace Sydney in the fall of 2022.

Exhibition curators: Aurélie Caron and Emmanuel Delbouis

PRESS KIT IN FRENCH

Tout public
Affiche Jonathan Jones
Landscape refractions by Karine Laval
From may 2022, 21th to September 2022, 26th

Jonathan Jones - Bodin - Malmaison Atlas
Expositions en cours

Malmaison, escale aux terres australes

De l'expédition Baudin à Jonathan Jones
Du 12 janvier au 18 avril 2022
Musée national du château de Malmaison

L’artiste australien, Jonathan Jones, très attaché à l’histoire de son pays, s’est penché sur l’expédition française menée par le Capitaine Nicolas Baudin aux Terres Australes entre 1800 et 1804. Commanditée par Napoléon Bonaparte, c’est l’une des plus grandes expéditions scientifiques de l’histoire. Celle-ci permet de rapporter en France de nombreuses espèces végétales et animales. Suivant les instructions données avant le départ, à leur arrivée en France, les kangourous, les cygnes noirs, les émeus, les mimosas, et les eucalyptus sont partagés entre le Muséum d’histoire naturelle de Paris et le parc de Malmaison.

L’acclimatation de ces espèces et les recherches menées par les scientifiques de l’époque ont inspiré à Jonathan Jones plusieurs œuvres exposées en France cet hiver. Une installation immersive au Palais de Tokyo (du 26 novembre 2021 au 20 février 2022) permet de découvrir les planches de l’herbier national de Paris reproduites en broderies. Elles sont accompagnées, entre autres, d’une œuvre sonore et d’un film expliquant la démarche et la réalisation des œuvres.

Au château de Malmaison (du 12 janvier au 18 avril 2022), l’artiste présente des œufs d’émeus sur lesquels sont gravées les plantes du livre d’Étienne-Pierre Ventenat Jardin de La Malmaison. Ces œuvres évoquent le jardin de Joséphine agrémenté de plantes des quatre coins du monde. Elles rappellent aussi l’émeu noir, envoyé par Baudin, qui a vécu dans les jardins de Malmaison, et dont le corps naturalisé conservé au Muséum d’histoire naturelle, est l’unique représentant de cette espèce disparue. Le travail de Jonathan Jones sera présenté dans une scénographie évoquant le contexte historique de l’expédition Baudin et le rôle de Malmaison dans l’acclimatation des espèces australiennes en France.

Les œuvres de l’artiste seront ensuite visibles à Artspace Sydney à l’automne 2022.

Commissaires d’exposition : Aurélie Caron et Emmanuel Delbouis

DOSSIER DE PRESSE

Tout public
Affiche Jonathan Jones
Oscar Rex, peintre de la légende napoléonienne
Du 24 novembre 2021 au 7 mars 2022
Prince Eugène - Appiani
Meilleurs Voeux pour 2022

Toute l'équipe du musée vous souhaite une très belle année 2022